ASQ Inspection Division Webinar  — Inspection and Test Plans:  Basic Principles, Observations, and Lessons Learned from the Field. 3653
ASQ Inspection Division Webinar — Inspection and Test Plans: Basic Principles, Observations, and Lessons Learned from the Field.
11
Tuesday, January 11th 7:00 p.m. ET/ 6:00 p.m. CT/ 5:00 p.m. MT/ 4:00 p.m. PT
(Via Webex)

Webinar Abstract:

Inspection and test plans – ITPs – are commonly used in manufacturing to identify critical characteristics that will be checked at varying stages of the manufacturing process. While ITPs may be referred to by a variety of names – i.e. inspection plans, quality control plans, quality assurance plans, to name a few – the ultimate goal is to ensure that the requirements and necessary inspection points are identified and understood by all stakeholders.

When done properly, an ITP can be characterized as part of the ‘Cost of Good Quality’ (COGQ). In this case, the development of the ITP can be viewed as ‘Prevention’ and the execution of the ITP can be viewed ‘Appraisal’. Ideally, the presence of a well thought-out and executed quality plan should serve to reduce the ‘Cost of Poor Quality’ by reducing or eliminating both ‘Internal Failure’ and ‘External Failure’.

Ultimately, developing and executing an ‘effective ITP’ should be a ‘value added activity’, rather than ‘something the client is forcing us to do’.

The presentation will also include both:
  • Observations from the ‘Field’.
  • Lessons Learned.
Date & Time
Tuesday January 11th, 2022 6:00pm CST
End Date & Time
Tuesday January 11th, 2022 7:00pm CST
Venue
Virtual
Categories
Webinar
Host Type
Technical
Additional Information
PRESENTER: 

Nick Cocchia – Senior Quality Advisor


Nick Cocchia is a Senior Quality Advisor with approximately thirty (30) years experience in both the Chemical Industry and Oil and Gas.  For the past twenty (20) years he has worked in Oil and Gas, in both as Manufacturer and an End-user Organizations.  During this time, he has been responsible for ensuring the integrity of business critical and safety critical equipment.  In line with this he been involved in the development and execution of numerous Inspection and Test Plans.

Nick is an ASQ Senior Member and holds several ASQ Certifications – CQE, CMQ/OE, CQA, and CSSGB.   He is also the Inspection Division Webinar Coordinator.  He holds a BS degree in Chemistry, as well as a MS degree in Manufacturing Systems Management – both from Southern Methodist University in Dallas, TX.

Nick is an active participant and contributor to various American Petroleum Institute (API) work groups.  He is currently involved with both API Spec Q1 and API Spec Q2 – both of which are QMS standards that are applied to the Oil and Gas Industry.  He was part of the core group that developed API Spec Q2, 1st edition.  In addition, he contributed to development of the 1st editions of both API Standard 20J and API Standard 20S.

 
Event address for attendees: https://asq.webex.com/asq/onstage/g.php?MTID=e5e371c56b5e71ef716223e8ff3229163 
Event Sponsor Information
Sponsored by ASQ Inspection Division.

The ASQ Inspection Division Webinars are conducted via Webex on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. ET/ 6:00 p.m. CT/ 5:00 p.m. MT/ 4:00 p.m. PT
Category Public Calendar

Event Comments

No Data Available

Event Map

Date & Time: 01/11/2022 06:00:00 PM CST