H. James Harrington Scholarship Winners 3535

H. James Harrington Scholarship Winners


The ASQ Inspection Division is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 H. James Harrington Scholarship:

$2,500 – Tyler Kleinasser, Huron, SD

Kleinasser is a graduate student at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology; he obtained his undergraduate degree from this same school in 2019. When he graduates, Tyler will have degrees in the fields of Civil & Environmental Engineering (Construction) and Industrial Engineering (Engineering Management). In both his undergraduate and graduate studies, he has achieved a perfect 4.0 grade point average which has earned him the school’s 4.0 Academic Achievement Award. Tyler has also achieved these awards/honors: Tau Beta Pi Laureate Award, SD Mines Leadership Hall of Fame, and the Order of the Engineer inductee. He is a member of the Chi Epsilon Civil Engineering Honor Society, the Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society, the Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society (served as his chapter’s President), the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), and ASQ. Tyler was a Resident Assistant, a member of the Student Senate, and he played intramural sports. In addition, he has served as a volunteer for over twenty organizations or events since 2015.

$500 - Joe Cocchia, Seabrook, TX
Cocchia has just completed his sophomore year at the University of Alabama where he is majoring in Metallurgical Engineering. He is an Eagle Scout and is a certified Leave No Trace trainer. Leave No Trace is a set of outdoor ethics promoting conservation in the outdoors.

News Member Recognition 10/07/2022 8:19am CDT