ASQ Inspection Division (FREE) July Webinar — API 20E and 20F – Industry Efforts to Mitigate the Risk of In-Service Bolting Failures.

July Webinar — API 20E and 20F – Industry Efforts to Mitigate the Risk of In-Service Bolting Failures.

Tuesday, July 13, 2021 — 7:00 p.m. ET/ 6:00 p.m. CT/ 5:00 p.m. MT/ 4:00 p.m. PT

Event address for attendees to Register:https://asq.webex.com/asq/onstage/g.php?MTID=ea0edc602d687c87e6371afd2ebb958da



Discussion & Presenter:

Beginning in 2009 the American Petroleum Institute (API) began developing documents addressing Supply Chain Management. API Subcommittee 20 (SC20) was created and charged with developing and maintaining specifications and standards on supply chain for critical material and processes used in oil and natural gas exploration and production. SC20 includes individual subcommittees covering products such as castings, forgings and bolting, along with services such as NDE, welding and heat treatment.

Beginning in 2012, multiple bolting failures on oilfield equipment triggered the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE) to investigate connector bolting failures in GOM. In response, API equipment standards began to adopt both API SC20’s bolting specifications API 20E and API 20F. Today API 20E and 20F bolting has become a mandatory requirement across API upstream drilling equipment including wellheads, valves, BOPs, riser systems and more.

Our session will provide an overview of API’s Supply Chain Management documents with a focus on the requirements of API 20E and 20F bolting.

Key takeaways will include: Scope of 20E and 20F bolting; bolting types and grades; Bolting Specification Levels (BSL); and the qualification, production and testing controls found within these specifications.

Jason Price - Fastenal Manufacturing



Jason began his career with the Fastenal organization in 2002 after attending Louisiana State University. Under Fastenal’s Manufacturing and Engineering Division, he developed a focus on critical bolting and precision machined components designed for service in upstream oil and gas equipment.

In his current role as Director of Manufacturing, he oversees the manufacturing, quality and engineering of hi-integrity bolting across nine Fastenal manufacturing sites in the US, UK and SE Asia. Including compliance to industry standards and specifications with an emphasis on API, ASME, ASTM, NACE and ISO.

While his primary focus is API Specification 20E and 20F, he is an active member and contributor to API Subcommittees 2, 6, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21 and serves as Chairman of API 20J and Vice-Chairman of SC20.

Event address for attendees:https://asq.webex.com/asq/onstage/g.php?MTID=ea0edc602d687c87e6371afd2ebb958da
Replies