New To Quality or Need a Refresher? Let ASQ's Quality Resources Help. Our Topic for This Week is Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award (MBNQA).

The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA) is an award established by the U.S. Congress in 1987 to raise awareness of quality management and recognize U.S. companies that have implemented successful quality management systems. The award is the nation's highest presidential honor for performance excellence.
Three MBNQA awards can be given annually in six categories:
  • Manufacturing
  • Service Company
  • Small Business
  • Education
  • Healthcare
  • Non-profit
The education and healthcare categories were added in 1999, while the government and non-profit categories were added in 2007.
The MBNQA award is named after the late Secretary of Commerce Malcolm Baldrige, a proponent of quality management. The U.S. Commerce Department’s National Institute of Standards and Technology manages the award, and ASQ administers it.
Learn more at:
News Quality Management Division 09/03/2022 9:41am CDT


No Data Available